Skillet Cornbread

Sometimes I wish I could go back in time and talk some sense into YesterLys.

Who?

YesterLys is me, 12 hours ago.  And she doesn’t realize that her bad decisions screw me every time.

I’m not doing laundry over the weekend!

Come Monday morning I’m taking the T in damp socks I had to hand wash before work. Curse you, YesterLys.

I’ll shave my legs tomorrow.

With the pants, silk sleeveless shirt, jacket and the building’s broken air conditioner I sweat like Robert Hays on Airplane.

At a job interview.

I couldn’t even take my jacket off because I hadn’t shaved my underarms either.  I did try to blot the sweat with a copy of my CV.

I didn’t get the job. Thanks a lot YesterLys.

Just one more slice. No one’s going to notice.

“Where did all the cornbread go?”

“Um…I ate it all?”

“In a day?”

“Damn you YesterLys.”

.

I love how adjustable this cornbread is.  Make it with coarse grind cornmeal for a toothsome bite, or use fine ground for a much softer bread.  It can be made slightly sweet with just a bit more sugar added to the batter, or the sugar can be reduced drastically, making it great for toasting with a slather of jam.  But what I think makes this bread special are the crispy edges from the batter touching the skillet. Whether for breakfast or an accompaniment to your chili, it’s best served warm on an autumn day.

Adapted from Bob’s Red Mill (on the back of Coarse Grind Cornmeal bag)

Makes One Round

Equipment

A medium sized mixing bowl

A whisk

A spatula

A pre-seasoned cast iron skillet (or an oven safe skillet – must be ok at 425F)

A cooling wire rack (or a large plate if you don’t have one)

Ingredients

2 tablespoons ground flax seed and a quarter cup of warm water plus two tablespoons, mixed well and set aside for at least 5 minutes

1 cup of whole wheat pastry flour (you can use all purpose)

1 cup of cornmeal (I love the texture of coarse ground, but Roo prefers fine ground)

1 tablespoon of vital wheat gluten

1 tablespoon of sugar (This is not a sweet cornbread. If you’d like something slightly sweet, use a quarter cup. If you’d like something more of a cornbread cake, use half a cup. I’ve tried all variations and they’re all great)

4 teaspoons of baking powder

Quarter teaspoon of fine sea salt

1 cup of unsweetened unflavored almond milk (you can use soy milk)

2 tablespoons of mild tasting olive oil

2 tablespoons of unsweetened applesauce *You can use a quarter cup of olive oil if you do not have any applesauce. Also, you will get a finer crumb with just oil instead of applesauce and oil.

An additional tablespoon of olive oil

Add the whole wheat pastry flour, cornmeal, vital wheat gluten, sugar, baking powder and sea salt to your medium sized mixing bowl. Whisk the ingredients together till well combined.

Make a well in your dry ingredients.  Add the ground flax seed mixture, almond milk, unsweetened applesauce and oil. Mix the ingredients with a spatula till just combined.  Do not over mix. *I find it easier to mix the ingredients together till just combined with a spatula vs a whisk.  Set aside while your oven preheats. *You want to set it aside to allow the batter to rise a bit and become more glutenous. Sounds gross, but it’s to prevent a crumbly cornbread.  It needs to be set aside at least ten minutes, or basically the time it takes your oven to preheat.

Place your oven rack to the middle position.  Place your seasoned cast iron skillet onto the rack.  Preheat your oven to 425F.

When your oven reaches 425F remove the cast iron skillet (with oven mitts, be careful!) and set onto a oven safe surface (like the burner of your oven). Pour in enough oil (about a tablespoon) to coat your skillet.  Roll the oil around (be sure to hold the pan with an oven mitt!) to make sure the entire surface is coated. Set the pan down.

Scoop the batter out into the skillet with your spatula. Smooth the top with your spatula and bake for about 20 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean (like a toothpick) when inserted into the middle.

Let the cornbread cool in its pan for about ten minutes.  With a spatula, loosen the edges and underneath the cornbread from the skillet. Then invert it onto a cooling wire rack.

Allow the cornbread to cool on the wire rack until warm (about ten minutes).  Serve warm.

4 thoughts on “Skillet Cornbread

  1. This post had me laughing so hard! I too get bugged by my past self and her crazy antics. The not shaving bit gets me every time. It’s always the day I decided against shaving that my yoga teacher decides to adjust my position by grabbing my stubbly-ass legs. And any kind of freshly baked bread does not last long when my past self is around. 😉

    This cornbread looks amazing! I want some chili to go with it, but my husband’s past self finished that off last night.

    • Thanks Kelly! I was so happy to see this on the back of Bob’s Red Mill cornmeal. Sometimes you can find inspiration in the most unusual places.

Comments are closed.