Lime Pound Cake

“Are you packing cake in your purse?”

I zipped my bag closed. “Yes.  I need it after the bars close.”

Roo looked at me, puzzled. “Why?”

“Whenever I go out with E, I end up drinking more than I should. And unfortunately, we have a history of making terrible decisions when that happens.”

“Like falling asleep, hugging a half-eaten bowl of Cheerios?” Roo joked.

“I can’t believe you remembered that.”

“Well the bowl was on my side of the bed.”

“I know.  And E hasn’t forgotten about finding me in her bed, drooling on a box of crackers.”

“You’re like the Goldilocks of after hours.”

“There were crumbs everywhere.” I sighed, bending over to fix the strap on my sandal.  I tucked it back into its clasp and stood back up. “This is why I need to bring a snack.  For all I know, E and I could relive our worst meal in college.”

“Dirty water hot dogs?”

I shook my head. “Pasta Roni with Cheese Dogs. I swear I had heartburn for days.”

Roo turned to the kitchen table and cut a slice of cake. “Here,” he said, wrapping it with aluminum foil and placing it in my hand. “Bring another slice.”

This cake is slightly sweet with a dense crumb, typical of pound cakes. I love the bright notes of lime and just a hint of vanilla, surprisingly from the yogurt (I use plain soy). Individual slices wrapped in foil freeze well and thaw out quite quickly, making it easy to pack with your lunch for work.

Adapted from Cooking Light

Makes 1 Bundt Cake

Equipment

A medium mixing bowl (used twice)

A whisk

A standing mixer or electric beaters (you can use a large mixing bowl and beat the butter till fluffy with a whisk, but it’ll take a lot longer)

A microplane zester/hand grater

A spatula

A 12 cup bundt pan, greased or sprayed with cooking/baking spray

A cooling rack (or a large plate if you don’t own one)

Ingredients

For the Cake

1 tablespoon of sugar, to be sprinkled in your prepared bundt pan (I prefer turbinado for that extra crunch, but granulated is fine)

3 tablespoons of ground flax seed and half a cup plus 1 tablespoon of warm water, mixed and set aside for at least 5 minutes

Three quarters of a cup of butter (like Earth Balance), softened (I’ve made this cake with half a cup of butter and quarter cup of unsweetened applesauce and liked it just as much)

2 cups of sugar (this makes a not too sweet cake, if you’d like it sweeter add a quarter cup of sugar)

Three and one quarter cups of all purpose flour (lightly spooned into measuring cup, then leveled off with a knife, not scooped with measuring cup)

Half teaspoon of baking soda

Quarter teaspoon of fine sea salt

Zest from 4 limes

2 tablespoons of freshly squeezed lime juice (use the limes you zested)

12 ounces of plain yogurt (I used soy) *I would not use light

For the Glaze (optional, but the cake is more “hint of lime” and the glaze gives you a bit more citrus punch)

Half cup powdered sugar

One and a half tablespoons of freshly squeezed lime juice (use the limes you zested)

Place your oven rack to the middle position in your oven.  Preheat your oven to 350F.

Sprinkle a tablespoon of sugar around your prepared bundt pan. Set aside. *If you’re making the glaze, you do not need to do this.

Add the flour, baking soda and salt to your medium mixing bowl. Mix the ingredients till well combined with a whisk. Set aside.

Add the butter to your standing mixer bowl and beat till fluffy (about five minutes).  Add the sugar, lime zest and lime juice to the butter. Mix till well combined.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl and back up again with a spatula, making sure everything is evenly distributed.

Add the flax seed mixture to the bowl and mix till well combined.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl and back up again with a spatula, making sure everything is evenly distributed.

Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients, alternating with the yogurt, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients.  Do not overmix this cake!  As soon as you add the last of your flour mixture, fold it in with a spatula. Make sure you (I know, I’m repeating myself) scrape down the sides of the bowl and back up again with a spatula.

Scoop the batter into your prepared bundt pan (the batter will be quite thick).  Bake the cake for about 1 hour to 1 hour 10 minutes (mine was done in 1 hour 5 minutes), or until a cake tester (like a toothpick) comes out clean when inserted in the center.

Cool the cake in its pan for 10 minutes, then invert onto a cooling rack.

If you’re making the glaze, rinse out your medium mixing bowl, then add the powdered sugar and lime juice.  Mix with a whisk till smooth.  Drizzle the glaze onto the cake and allow the cake to fully cool prior to slicing.

2 thoughts on “Lime Pound Cake

    • Azmina, you are too kind! I do like this pound cake but I’ll admit that the lemon will be an old favorite. I love lemon. I guess I’m like a grandma that way. 🙂 And I would love if Roo did a guest post. I’ve been having a block for a week, wrote myself in a corner last night, and am just STUCK with what to write. Hopefully I can get out of it soon, I have too many recipes piled up over here…Hope you’re well!

Leave a Reply

