Oven Roasted Tomatoes

I’ve been holding onto some news.

What took me so long to tell you?

Well…I forgot what Roo said when he asked.

I’m a horrible fiancé.

It wasn’t until last night that I mustered the courage to ask Roo what happened.  I wanted to know more than what I had been telling my friends,”he laughed, then I laughed, and I said ‘Yes.” Because, really? Even a friend doesn’t want to hear an engagement story like that.

“I was going to write up that I we got engaged.”

“Oh. You haven’t done that yet?”

“Not yet.  It’s just that,” I paused. ” I kinda forgot what you said.”

Roo smiled, “Did you blackout from overwhelming emotion?”

“Perhaps. I remember you joking, saying that I had to take my sunglasses off so you could see me cry.”

“And you didn’t!”

“I know! Are you disappointed?”

“Not really.”

“I do remember somethings. Sitting on the bench with you, watching the rowers go by on the Charles…wondering aloud if those girls from Wellesley College actually started in Wellesley and paddled down to Boston -”

“Wellesley girls? That’s what you remember?”

“No! There’s more! I remember you getting down on one knee, removing the ring from your wallet – which was so sneaky by the way – and,” I laughed, “I remember saying ‘No’ as a joke.”

“But what I actually said to you -”

“Something about being a better man?”

“Yes. I said you make me a better man, even when you’re away, and I would be honored if you spend the rest of your life with me.”

“Oh. No wonder I blacked out.”

.

By the time we got home it was only 11 a.m. It was strange, looking at the clock, realizing we had accomplished so much, so early in the morning.

We sat on the couch, in silence, occasionally looking at one another and smiling. I just wanted to sit there and enjoy. Enjoy that Roo wanted to spend the rest of his life with me, soak in the well wishes, as well as eating some lovely, easy food.

For lunch I roasted tomatoes in the oven, pickled some red peppers and made hummus.  All wonderful things to eat with hands, scoop up with warm pita bread and get your engagement ring messy with.

And if you were curious, yes, Roo announced our engagement on Facebook too.

Adapted from A Homemade Life

This recipe can be easily halved or if you’re daring, doubled

Equipment

A sharp knife

Two roasting pans

A large mixing bowl

Ingredients

3 pounds of plum tomatoes (about a dozen), split into half, lengthwise

4 – 6 cloves of garlic, thinly sliced lengthwise (you want about 24 slices, so that one slice will go into each tomato half)

1 tablespoon of mild tasting olive oil

A couple big pinches of coarse sea salt

Place your oven racks in the upper middle and lower middle positions in your oven.  Preheat your oven to 325F.

Add the halved tomatoes and olive oil to your large mixing bowl.  Gently toss the ingredients together, coating the tomatoes with the olive oil.

Place the coated tomatoes on your roasting pans, cut side up, with a bit of space between each tomato (I can fit a dozen tomato halves on each roasting pan).  Sprinkle a couple flakes of coarse sea salt on each tomato half.  Place a garlic slice on top of each tomato half.  Flip the tomatoes over (cut side down) and roast in the oven for about 2 hours, or until the tomatoes are about half their original size.  They should look a bit wrinkled but the centers should be juicy.

Remove the pans from the oven and allow to cool to room temperature.  These can be stored in an airtight container in the fridge for about a week. I have also frozen these and they can be kept in the freezer for about 6 months.

10 thoughts on “Oven Roasted Tomatoes

  1. Congratulations! Roo’s Facebook announcement literally made me laugh out loud. I could picture Dwight (from The Office) saying it with utter sincerity.

  2. Congratulations!!! I’m so happy for you two! I too laughed out loud…really loud when I read what he wrote on Facebook. Looks like the two of you have similar senses of humour, that helps trust me! Can’t wait to hear about all the plans and all…and remember no feeding tubes! Repeat after me…I will not succumb to the pressure of being a “perfect” bride…just be you, that’s perfection!

    • Thank you so much Kelly! I was actually starting to wonder where you were…haven’t seen you on Twitter and was worried you left!

      I’m so glad you laughed at Roo’s post as well. I will admit that his announcement way better than mine. 🙂

      And girl, of course no feeding tubes! Haha. I feel like only you and I get that reference. But seriously? That article was so gross. I still can’t believe it.

      • Aw! It’s our first inside joke! Ha!

        I can’t believe I didn’t see your tweet about this back in May, I’m slacking on my Twitter stalking! Congrats again!

    • Thank you! The main stone is an heirloom and I feel so lucky that I can wear it. I really love that it’ll continue to be passed down in future generations.

      But yes! Pickled red peppers. I’ll definitely post that. I’ll make it again this weekend (to make sure it tests ok…I like to make things 3 times before posting) and write it up!

  3. Pingback: Rosemary Polenta with Roasted Asparagus and Tomatoes « Liz Lemon Nights

Leave a Reply

