Double Coconut and Banana Loaf

This afternoon I was interrupted Facebook stalking doing my research for my next lab meeting by a phone call from Roo.  He occasionally calls when he’s stuck in traffic.

“Babe, sometimes I think I’m psychic.”

“Mmm hmm….Wait, what?”

“Are you doing something right now?”

I click my browser window closed, “Uh no, I was just petting Monkey.  What’s up?”

“As I was walking up the stairs at school today, I thought, you know what would be funny? If I missed a step.

“Uh huh, so you missed a step. Ok, well…”

“No, that’s not the whole story.”

“You missed a step and the children saw you?  Did you fall in front of a parent?  Oh no…did you take down a parent?”

“What? No. No, what happened was, I was carrying my cup of tea as I was walking up the stairs, and it spilled. Up into my face.”

“Are you serious?”

“And when I went back into the classroom, the kids were wrapped up in a conversation about what ‘their problem was.’  To which I said, ‘You know what my problem is?'”

“Oh no, please don’t tell me you did a two-face reveal of your horribly burned face,” I said, picturing him asking the class with his ‘good side.’

“Oh yes.  And when they asked, I replied, ‘I just boiledmyface.'”

“You did the dramatic point and reveal, didn’t you.”

“I boiled my face.  Of course it was dramatic.  But that’s not why I’m calling.”

“Are you ok?”

“It feels like burning.”

“Seriously, are you on your way to the hospital?  Do you need burn cream?”

“No, it’ll be fine.  But…do we have any of that cake left?”

.

Banana and coconut.  In what seems like an endless winter, anything that reminds me of warm sand between my perfectly pedicured toes, pink drinks with an umbrella and maybe a shirtless cabana boy, is a plus in my book.

This cake has substance, but isn’t heavy.  The crumb is moist, light and full of texture, with the shredded coconut woven through.  I also love that touch of cinnamon you can just barely make out in the background.

But the part that Roo and I fight over are actually the ends.  The ends!  The coconut oil creates a lovely, somewhat slightly crunchy exterior.  So lush that you’ll be stashing away the ends for yourself once you try a piece of the corner as it cools.  You know, if you’re selfish like that.

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Makes One 9 inch Loaf

Equipment

A small saucepan (you use a small microwavable bowl to melt your coconut oil with; heat in 30 second intervals)

A large mixing bowl

A medium mixing bowl

A whisk

A spatula

A loaf pan lined with parchment paper (optional) or greased with coconut oil or butter (like Earth Balance) or sprayed with baking spray

A cooling rack (or a plate if you don’t own one)

Ingredients

Quarter cup of virgin coconut oil

One and a quarter cup of whole wheat pastry flour (you can use all purpose)

2 teaspoons of baking powder

Quarter teaspoon of fine sea salt

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

Half a cup of unsweetened finely shredded coconut (I used Let’s Do)

3 medium very ripe (black) bananas, mashed (about one cup of banana)

Half a cup plus two tablespoons of sugar (this makes a not-so-sweet cake.  If you’d like something sweeter, use three quarters of a cup)

1 flax seed egg (1 tablespoon of ground flax seed and 3 tablespoons of warm water, mixed and set aside for about 5 minutes)

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Quarter cup of unsweetened flaked coconut (to top the cake) *You can use shredded.

Place your oven rack to the middle position.  Preheat your oven to 350F.

Add the coconut oil to your small saucepan.  Place it on a burner over low heat and warm it just until it melts.  Set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl, add the flour, baking powder, salt, ground cinnamon and shredded coconut.  Whisk the ingredients together till well combined.  Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, add the mashed banana, coconut oil, sugar, flax seed egg and vanilla extract.  Mix the ingredients till well combined.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet, mixing till just combined.  Be sure to scrape down and up the sides of the bowl to be sure everything is just incorporated.

Scoop the cake batter into your prepared loaf pan (it’s going to be thick). Top the cake with the flaked coconut (or shreds, if you’re using).

Bake for about 40 – 50 minutes, or until a cake tester (like a toothpick) comes out clean when inserted into the middle (for me it takes 45 minutes).  Let the loaf cool in the pan for about ten minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack.  Serve at room temperature.  (I can never wait that long, so while I have eaten it warm straight out of the oven – and it was delicious – it’s even better the next day at room temperature.)

One thought on “Double Coconut and Banana Loaf

  1. Pingback: Killing Bananas into Slime | Inspired... by Kim

Leave a Reply

