How to Make Coconut Milk Whipped Cream

Oh look, another followup post.  This time to Banana Bread with Bittersweet Chocolate and Candied Ginger.

Don’t you love these?

I know, you were probably hoping for another Ryan Gosling post, but I’m selfish.

Because I want Ryan all to myself.

Actually, I don’t.

Yes, I’m probably the only female (in the world) who doesn’t find Ryan Gosling attractive.  In fact, I’m a little pissed that I can’t say, “Hey Girl” to my friends anymore without them replying, “Totes Amaze!”, “Hashtag, IheartRyanGosling!” or “Why haven’t you seen Drive yet!?! Are you even American?”

But enough about Ry-Gos.

Let’s talk about coconut whipped cream.

It’s light, luscious, slightly sweet, and just barely coconut with the warmth of vanilla shining through. It’s perfect folded into chocolate ice cream, dolloped on top of hot cocoa and I love sometimes, sometimes I can’t picture life without having it spooned onto cakes, brownies, or even eaten straight out of the bowl.

In less than five minutes I can make myself a treat to eat while still in the kitchen, pretending not to hear Roo ask, “whatcha making?” from the other room.

I’m sure if I said “Ryan Gosling,” he wouldn’t mind me keeping it all for myself.

Makes About a Cup of Coconut Milk Whipped Cream

Ingredients

full fat can of coconut milk, well chilled (in the refrigerator, preferably overnight)

Sugar to taste (I use 1 tablespoon)

Vanilla extract to taste (I use 1 teaspoon)

Equipment

A stand mixer or electric beaters

*You can do this the old fashioned way with a large mixing bowl and whisk, but that just means you’re a better person than I am

Remove your well chilled can of coconut milk from the fridge without shaking or tipping.

Open the can of coconut milk.  On top will be a firm, opaque, waxy layer.  This is the good stuff.

Scoop out this top layer and place it into your mixing bowl. *Be sure to stop when you reach the liquid.  Do not include it in your mixing bowl as what will result is a watery whipped cream.  Which is gross.

Add your sugar

and vanilla extract.

Turn your mixer, beaters (or arm, sad) on high and whip for about 2 – 3 minutes or

until the cream has soft peaks.  Soft peaks are basically points that fall back onto themselves when you remove the beaters out of the mixture.  (If the peak looks sad, then it’s probably soft.)

 

Then devour.

I mean, plate it all pretty-like with your dessert and serve.

…then run back to the kitchen and lick off the beaters.

And if you do have any leftover, it can be kept in the fridge for days in a tupperware container.

3 thoughts on “How to Make Coconut Milk Whipped Cream

  1. What a good way to grab attention with Ryan Gosling pics hehe, although it doesn’t really need em coz the recipe alone is quite awesome. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Whole Wheat Waffles with Strawberries and Coconut Whipped Cream | Liz Lemon Nights

Leave a Reply

