Banana Bread with Bittersweet Chocolate and Candied Ginger

I have this fear.  A completely irrational fear that only an obsessive planner, type A, control freak like myself could only come up with.

I’m afraid that I’m going to be a “Crunchy Mom.”

To me, a “Crunchy Mom” is basically one who strives to have their family live clean (like chemical free), healthy lives.

And what’s wrong with this?

Well, two things, 1) I’m not married and 2) I’m not pregnant.

I should have no concerns about this whatsoever.  (I told you, it’s completely irrational.)

But after watching this You Tube spoof on Shit Girls Say (if you haven’t seen the original yet, where have you been!?), I couldn’t help but relate to what those women were saying.

For instance, I saw Business of Being Born.  Again, I’m not even pregnant.  I don’t know why the film called out to me from our Netflix queue, but it did, and I watched it.

And I liked it.

I found it super informative, even though I’m slightly traumatized from watching Ricki Lake give birth on film.  Gone are the memories of Ricki prancing around on set in her oversized blazers during the opening credits.  Instead, vagina.

I also rationalize a $20 maple syrup purchase from Whole Foods. (Because it’s Grade B.  Of course.)

I love coconut oil and I have asked Roo if my shirt “shows my back fat.” The two may be related.

And while I don’t hush Roo so that I can focus on “my kegels,” (No.) a lot of this looks scarily foreseeable.

When I explained all of this to Roo (because he made the mistake of asking me, “what’s on your mind, Babe?”), he knew what to do.

He listened, “I mean, am I going to have a ‘Chicken Pox Party?’ My mom took me to one of those when I was a kid, and we all know how I’m going to turn into my mother.”

He smiled, “And I love full fat stuff. LOVE.”

He sat me down, “I’m just so….I don’t know. Everyone is having babies!  My Facebook newsfeed is basically telling me to have babies.”

And put this in front of me.

*I feel totally better.

Bittersweet dark chocolate and piquant candied ginger are studded throughout this super moist banana bread.  It’s great with a cup of tea, or even first thing in the morning, as the bits of ginger give you that bit of zing! to help you wake up.  Slather it with a dollop of creamy, luscious coconut whipped cream and you have a true winner.  The coconut and ginger form a partnership meant to be, like the classics, chocolate and raspberry.

Adapted from Orangette

Makes 1 Loaf

Ingredients

1 flax seed egg (1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed mixed with 3 tablespoons of warm water mixed and set aside for at least 5 minutes)

5 very ripe medium sized bananas (mine were practically black), mashed

3 tablespoons of unsweetened unflavored soy milk (or your choice of non-dairy milk)

Three quarters of a cup of sugar (this makes a slightly sweet cake. If you like your baked goods quite sweet, use at least 1 cup)

One third of a cup of mild tasting olive oil

2 cups of white whole wheat flour (if you only have all purpose you can use that)

1 teaspoon of baking powder

Half a teaspoon of baking soda

Quarter teaspoon of fine sea salt

Half a cup of bittersweet chocolate chips

One third of a cup of candied ginger, diced (Roo likes the little bits of ginger throughout the cake, if you don’t mind the bigger pieces that come out of the bag, then don’t have to dice)

Equipment

A sharp knife

A large mixing bowl

A medium mixing bowl

A spatula

A whisk

A 9×5″ loaf pan lined with parchment paper or buttered and floured

Place your oven rack to the middle position in your oven.  Preheat your oven to 350F.

Add the bananas and soy milk to the large mixing bowl, and mix till the bananas are all mashed up and almost smooth in consistency.

Add the the sugar, flax seed egg, and olive oil to the large mixing bowl.  At first it’s going to look like an oily mess.  Don’t worry, it’ll come together.  Keep mixing till well combined

In a medium mixing bowl, add the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Mix the ingredients with a whisk till well combined and there are no visible lumps.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet, stirring till just combined.

Add the chocolate chips and diced candied ginger to the bowl.  Fold in the chips and ginger with your spatula till just combined.

Scoop out the batter into the loaf pan.  Bake the banana bread for about 60 minutes, until a cake tester (like a toothpick, tines of fork, etc.) comes out clean when inserted in the center and withdrawn.  Check the banana bread at the 55 minute marker, and if it’s not done, continue baking and checking every 5 minutes till it’s ready.

Allow the banana bread to cool in its loaf pan for a few minutes before cutting into.  Ideally, it should be eaten at room temperature, but I’ve never been able to stop myself and have had it warm several times.  Serve with a side of coconut whipped cream, if desired.

*And yes, like an episode of Full House where DJ’s eating disorder was miraculously cured with a 2 minute pep talk, I too, was all better in a non-sensical amount of time, because of cake. …and maybe coconut whipped cream.

3 thoughts on “Banana Bread with Bittersweet Chocolate and Candied Ginger

  1. This sounds AMAZING. I am going to buy the ginger and chocolate tomorrow so I can throw it together, I’m very excited. I find your posts hilarious and really love receiving them in my inbox. I was wondering, since we aren’t vegan, can I sub an egg for the “flax seed egg”? Is that the equivalent? Thanks!

    • Thank you so much! That really means a lot.

      Yes, you can use 1 egg for the flax seed egg. I adapt a lot from non-vegan recipes, so the flax seed eggs are usually the equivalent to the number of eggs used in the original. But it’s a good question, as sometimes I tweak the recipe a lot and I use one more or less “flax seed egg.”

      Thanks for reading!

  2. Pingback: How to Make Coconut Milk Whipped Cream « Liz Lemon Nights

Leave a Reply

