How to Make Almond Milk

Last week I tweeted about my new found love for Peanut Butter Cheerios with homemade almond milk.  I was a bit surprised when a few of my friends asked me for a recipe, because, well hello, these Cheerios are life changing.  And almond milk is you know, just this slightly nutty, creamy medium with a hint of vanilla for the Cheerios to swim in.

Ok, so it’s a bit more than a medium.

I also promised I would post this week, so here I am, sharing my version of “How To Make Almond Milk.”

Because that’s what I, will do for you.

And by you, I mean myself, because that’s what a narcissist gets, as no one wants to read material that’s all about me me me.

But isn’t that what blogging is all about?

Makes Three to Four Cups of Almond Milk

(this recipe can be easily halved)

Adapted from Oh Nuts Blog

Ingredients

Two cups of raw, unsalted almonds

8 cups of water (divided)

A pinch of fine sea salt

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract (optional)

1 tablespoon of agave or maple syrup (optional)

Equipment

A blender (I use a Kitchenaid)

A small mixing bowl

Plastic wrap (or something to cover the bowl with)

A fine mesh strainer or a colander lined with 3 layers of cheese cloth. *With the cheese cloth you end up with a thinner variation (people also say less chalky) of almond milk as less solids fall through.*

Place the almonds and three cups of water in the mixing bowl, cover and refrigerate overnight (about 6 – 8 hours).

Drain the water and add the almonds to your blender.  Pour in five cups of fresh water and the vanilla extract, maple syrup and fine sea salt (if using).

Blend the ingredients on high for two to three minutes, or until the mixture is smooth and frothy.

At this point I would taste the almond milk to see if it’s sweet enough.  Adjust the seasonings to your liking and then strain your milk.  (Roo likes an even sweeter version, preferring 2 tablespoons of maple syrup. So give it a taste, and adjust.)

If using a fine mesh strainer, place it over your (now empty) mixing bowl.  (If you’re using cheesecloth and a colander, line your colander and place it over the mixing bowl.)

Pour the almond milk, a little bit at a time, into the strainer/cheesecloth and colander.

You may have to move around the solids a bit with your hands to get all the milk to pass through.

If using the cheesecloth, once most of the milk has passed through, pick up the cheesecloth and gather it up.  Gently squeeze it to get rid of any excess liquids.

The remaining fine almond meal can either be discarded or used in smoothies or even stirred into your oatmeal.

Store your almond milk in a shakeable container (I use a spaghetti sauce jar with lid) in the fridge.  It’ll separate upon standing, but don’t panic, just give it a good shake when you want to use it.

5 thoughts on “How to Make Almond Milk

  1. Almond milk has always seemed like a lot of faff to me, not to mention that almonds are so expensive in my neck of the woods that I have a seizure in the food store’s nut aisle.

    However….your v simple description and helpful photos are convincing me to get off my lazy behind and give it a go – thanks 🙂

    • I know, nuts are really expensive (it’s why I rarely buy pine nuts). Do you live near a Trader Joe’s? While the store isn’t very cheap when it comes to produce, I find you can save a lot in their nut aisle.

      If you do try it, please let me know how it goes! Try it with the cheesecloth version, it’s a lot smoother than the fine mesh strainer.

      Thanks for reading, I appreciate it! 🙂

    • It’s true, I lived on cereal when I went to college. And I totally loved Captain Crunch. Did you hear they’re taking it off the market? A little bit of me died inside (the 20 year old that ate nothing but that, peach schnapps and menthol cigarettes….I wasn’t exactly the epitome of health!)

      Thanks for stopping by! It’s always great to hear from new readers! 🙂

      • wow, what a combo! hmmm, peach is a fruit, menthol is mint, that’s a vegetable, crunchberries, wheat…a well-rounded vegetarian diet! 😉

Leave a comment