Cooking Playlist 2

It was around this time last year that Roo and I drove down to Pennsylvania for a wedding.  The last of his college friends were getting married and the ceremony was near the bride’s hometown.

Needless to say it was a beautiful wedding, I’ve probably never laughed so hard thanks to Roo’s amazing friends, and we all (over)appreciated the open-bar.  Unfortunately, as I had mentioned before in March, it ended up being host to the most ridiculous fight Roo and I ever had (yes, it took me months afterwards to write about it, it was that bad).  The next day we said our goodbyes to everyone at the hotel and drove back to Boston (a total of six hours), in absolute silence.

As we sat in the car, hostages to our own emotions, we listened to a mix CD from the bride and groom (a party favor for all the wedding guests).  It was basically my own Panama, as I had to endure the playlist on repeat for the entire car ride home.  Never before had I not talked to someone in the same car with me for that long, all the while watching them hit ‘play’ again, and again.

It was hell.

Fast forward to this past weekend, as I was driving home from the grocery store, I reached into the center console and grabbed the first CD case my hand laid upon.  And yes, the plot is totally obvious in this story, as I pulled out that same CD I had to listen to almost a year ago.

I debated putting it into the player, but when I looked at the back of the case, reading what artists were on the playlist, I decided to give it a second chance.

I loved it.

I loved it so much that I have been counting down the days to share it with you on LLN, wanting to time it with the weekly Cooking Playlist.

As for you, dear reader, I hope that this playlist gets you out of your head while you cook.  Some people think cooking has to be all serious, following the recipe exactly or else their kitchen will implode (or <insert your greatest fear here>).  It doesn’t have to be like that!  Play some good music, and just feel it out.  Taste everything (and season accordingly).  And be sure to share the love you cooked with someone special in your heart.

And if the YouTube player doesn’t work, you can listen to it here.

Leave a Reply

