One Ingredient Ice Cream (Banana Soft Serve)

I didn’t believe it when I read it, but it’s true.  You can make ice cream with just one ingredient, and without an ice cream maker.  All you need is an open mind, a food processor and bananas.

When I come home from work, right before I start cooking dinner, I like to take a few minutes to check up on any of my favorite cooking websites, and The Kitchn is one that I check daily.  A few months ago I read that you can make ice cream from just frozen bananas.  I immediately got up from the couch, cut up some ripe bananas we had on the kitchen table that I was saving for banana bread, and threw them in the freezer.  A little grumpy that I had to wait a day to use them, I went on my usual routine of cooking dinner (I may or may not have overcooked the chicken), but basically forgot about them until a week later.

I am so thankful I remembered.

What came out after a few rounds in the food processor was a smooth and creamy, practically guilt free, lovely banana soft serve.  I say practically because Roo and I ooo-ed and aaah-ed as I topped it with cookie dough balls.

No one said we were perfect.

Recipe from The Kitchn

Serves Two People

Ingredients

Two bananas

Equipment

Food processor

A spatula

A ziploc bag or a plate, or whatever you can store the bananas on in the freezer

Peel the bananas and then cut them into small pieces.  Throw them into a ziploc bag and into the freezer until frozen.  Our freezer is the saddest piece of electric equipment known to man.  I leave them in overnight just to make sure they truly freeze all the way through.

When the bananas are frozen, throw them into a food processor.

Pulse, stopping periodically to scrape down the sides if chunks stick.

When they just smooth out, stop, and serve.

One thought on “One Ingredient Ice Cream (Banana Soft Serve)

  1. Pingback: Cookie Dough Balls « Liz Lemon Nights

Leave a Reply

