Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes

I think I’m the only female on earth that doesn’t like Jack Johnson’s song, Banana Pancakes.  I like Jack Johnson, and some of my male friends – even some I’ve dated – have an eerily strong love for the man that loves to repeatedly tell me “we’re better together.”

No Jack, no, we are not.

I do love actual banana pancakes.  (I also love the concept of eating breakfast for dinner, also known as “Brinner.”)  I came across this recipe one Saturday morning when I was craving a warm breakfast, but with minimal effort.  This recipe is great as the ingredients can put together in five minutes and within a half an hour, we were sitting down at our kitchen table to eat breakfast.

Not listening to Jack Johnson.

I also love that everything about it seems healthy but it tastes indulgent.  If there’s anything I can suggest is please, please, use the bananas.  Sure, blueberry pancakes are also delicious, but the bananas.  The bananas caramelize.  How can you go wrong with a somewhat slightly crunchy on the outside, sweet – hey, maybe that could be creme brulee in my mouth, if I really think about, wait, why is he staring at me? –  incredibly creamy, caramelized banana slice?  You just can’t.

Adapted, a little, from Gina’s Skinny Recipes

Makes about 9 pancakes

Ingredients

Dry

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon salt (I used Diamond fine sea salt)

Wet

3 large egg whites

1 cup milk (I used 1%)

1 tablespoon honey

1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used vanilla paste this time as I ran out of extract)

2 teaspoons olive oil (I use a very mild flavored one, such as Filippo Berio)

Other

3 ripe bananas sliced quite thin, for about 6 – 9 slices per pancake (I love caramelized bananas on the bottom of my pancake.  If you think that may be overwhelming, cut up one banana, and decorate your pancake from there.)

Set aside some olive oil to coat your pan

Equipment

2 small – medium mixing bowls

A whisk (maybe a spatula as well)

A medium saute pan

*Save your 1/4 cup measuring cup to ladle out pancake batter

Mix dry ingredients in one bowl with a whisk.  I don’t use a sifter as I feel whisking the components together evenly distributes them as well as gets rid of any possible lumps.  Also, I don’t own a sifter.

Mix wet ingredients together in another bowl.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet.  I do this in two increments.  Mix together till combined.  Using your whisk to do this is fine, but if you’re worried about over mixing and can’t bear doing this without a spatula (my mother is one of those people), then grab a spatula.

Add about 2 tablespoons of olive oil to your medium saute pan, just enough to coat the surface.  Today I used my “super huge,” (yes, that’s an official term) fry pan, and perhaps overdid it with 5 tablespoons (I was singing along to Coldplay, I can’t be held accountable with the turmoils of multi-tasking).  But you know what?  It was still delicious.  So do what you want.

Heat the saute pan on medium heat.  When the oil starts to shimmer, scoop up a 1/4 cup of pancake batter.  Trying not to overcrowd the pan (I have “Martha” moments and don’t like to see my pancakes touching/fusing), scoop out as many 1/4 cup portions that will fit.  (In the “super huge,” this is three, in my medium sized saute pan, it’s only two.)  When the pancake batter starts to bubble, add the slices of banana.  I can fit about 6 – 9 slices per pancake.

When the bubbles of the pancakes get quite large and the edges begin to set (or you can cheat and peak underneath to see how brown the pancake is getting in the oil), flip the pancake.  I have to say that the larger the bubbles get, the easier the flipping is.  Also, it takes me about 6 pancakes in (which is sad because this recipe only makes 9) for me to gain the confidence to flip the pancake quickly enough so that it doesn’t turn into a amoeboid-pancake (or worse, looks like Java the Hut’s cousin…it happens).  Thankfully Roo never judges and eats the ugly pancakes.  Yes, boys usually don’t care, especially when it comes to caramelized bananas (…and carbs).

I’ll admit that I’ve flipped the pancakes (in lack of patience) to get them to that right amount of doneness that I want.  I have yet to see the pancake deflate because of this.  If I really was Martha Stewart, I’d probably discourage you from this, emphasizing “must,” and cutting at the air with my spatula saying, “not,” but I’m not Martha.  Make these pancakes in your pre-coffee state the way you want them.

When your pancakes are fully cooked, repeat adding the pancake batter to the pan, with the rest of what’s in your bowl.

You may find that you’ll have to add a bit more olive oil with every batch.  That’s ok, whatever it takes to prevent your pancakes from sticking to the pan.

Lastly, Roo and I have found that these pancakes do not need maple syrup.  But, before you call me un-American, give it a try.

One thought on “Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Recipe Redo – Banana Pancakes « Liz Lemon Nights

Leave a Reply

