Lemon Yogurt Cake with Blueberries

It’s a Sunday and the weekend is nearly over.  And to get me through the work week, I need breakfast cake.

Yes, breakfast cake.

I realize that we’re freshly out of the New Year and people may have some reservations about eating cake for breakfast.  But I’m in the belief that if it has fruit in it, it’s good enough for breakfast.

I found a recipe for French Style Yogurt Cake last year on one of my favorite blogs, Orangette.  She made this cake during a hot summer night, when she really shouldn’t have been baking because her apartment felt like the inside of an oven. But when friends are invited to dinner, one feels compelled to provide a dessert.  Or, at least I do.

Unfortunately, it’s not even close to summer yet.  Boston hasn’t been able to escape the chill that’s blown in since this winter, like that creepy uncle that’s overstay his welcome at the family dinner party.  And I’ve been wanting winter to leave, probably well before the first of three blizzards we’ve had this year.  With that wanting, came the cravings of the season that I felt was so far away.  Bright notes of citrus, the tiny bit of grit you get when the seeds of (probably) too many blueberries rub against the roof of your mouth, and a something light (that you can’t exactly put your finger on) from the yogurt.

I love that this cake is incredibly adaptable, and allowed me to create flavors to almost convince me that summer may just be around the corner.  And if I turned the heat up, in my apartment.

Adapted, ever so slightly from Orangette

Dry Ingredients

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour (if you don’t have whole wheat flour on hand, you can use all purpose flour)

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp lemon zest

Wet Ingredients

1/2 cup plain yogurt

1 cup granulated sugar

3 large eggs

1/2 cup olive oil

To add at the end: 1 cup frozen blueberries

Equipment

2 large bowls

Spatula

Cake pan (I use a nonstick 9″ wide, 2″ deep springform pan)

Preheat your oven to 350F.

Butter and flour your cake pan, or, because I’m lazy, line it with parchment paper.  Thankfully I haven’t had my cake stick (yet) to the parchment paper, so I have been able to avoid that buttering and flouring mess!

In one bowl, mix your flour, baking powder, and zest till combined.  I don’t sift my flour because I’m lazy and haven’t found it necessary for this cake.  Do what you like.

In another bowl, mix your yogurt, sugar and eggs until well blended.

Add in two increments, your dry ingredients to your wet, until just combined.  Add your oil and keep mixing until fully incorporated.

Pour half of your batter into your lined (or buttered and floured) cake pan.  Take your blueberries and disperse it evenly on your first layer of batter.  Pour the other half of your batter over the blueberries.

Bake the cake for 25 – 35 minutes.  Orangette suggested 30 – 35 minutes, but my oven is rather small (and dangerously hot) so it takes about 25 in mine.  When a knife is inserted into the cake’s center, it should come out clean.

Cool the cake completely and devour.

But I’ve been known to eat the cake as soon as it comes out of the oven.  Shame.

2 thoughts on “Lemon Yogurt Cake with Blueberries

  1. Pingback: Green Bean Salad with Pickled Red Onions and Fried Almonds « Liz Lemon Nights

  2. Pingback: Yogurt Cake with Lemon and Blueberries | Liz Lemon Nights

Leave a Reply

