(Practically Unsweetened) Homemade Applesauce

There were some reasons why I didn’t want to write about my making applesauce.

One, I’m absolutely addicted to homemade applesauce.  I love it.

Which results in two, when it’s done and I need to remove ingredients like lemon peel and cinnamon stick, they find themselves in my mouth, sucking off what little remnants of sauce are on them.

And three, Roo never knew how much I love applesauce and caught me trying to get said lemon peel off the roof of my mouth and into the garbage.

I’m incredibly attractive.  What a winner.

But, there are a few recipes popping up soon in which apple sauce is an ingredient, so why not use homemade?  It’s tasty (as I’ve already established), easy to make (just toss into a pot and simmer), and makes your apartment smell like love.

Yeah, love smells like apples cooking in cinnamon and lemon.  What, doesn’t your’s?

Adapted from Simply Recipes

-

Ingredients

3 pounds of peeled, cored and quartered apples (I used Macoun because that’s what I blindly grabbed at the market)

3 strips of lemon peel

1 lemon, juiced

1 cinnamon stick

One eighth cup of sugar (it’s two tablespoons, in case you don’t have a wee little one eighth measuring cup)

1 cup of water

One quarter teaspoon of salt

-

Equipment

A large pot with lid

A sharp knife (and a vegetable peeler if you don’t feel comfortable peeling your apples with your knife)

A spatula

*Maybe a potato masher

-

Throw all your ingredients into a pot and stir to combine.  Bring the ingredients to a boil, then lower the heat so bring it to a simmer.  Cover the pot and cook for about 20 – 30 minutes.

In my case, after some stirring around with a spatula at 20 minutes, the apples really broke down and gave me a mostly smooth sauce.

Remove the applesauce from heat.  Carefully (be sure it’s cooled down a bit), remove the lemon peel and cinnamon stick from the sauce and dispose.  Please refrain from putting them into your mouth as it leads to awkward conversation if you get caught.

Serve warm, or wait till it’s cooled and throw it in tupperware to chill for serving.

This also freezes great, so you can divide it into half cup portions (if you’re into things like list making and planning for things, like crazy me) and throw it in the freezer.

*You could use a potato masher and get all zealous on the stuff and break it down more (if your apples are stubborn and refuse to break apart).

4 thoughts on “(Practically Unsweetened) Homemade Applesauce

  1. Pingback: Marbled Banana Bread « Liz Lemon Nights

    • I’ve been eating a lot of this applesauce lately! I make it every weekend. Just as a note, it is a bit lemony due to the peel and juice. If you’re more of a cinnamon fan, I would add a second cinnamon stick to it. Enjoy, and thanks for reading! :)

  2. Pingback: Vanilla Citrus Pound Cake « Liz Lemon Nights

Leave a Reply

