Pumpkin Spice Latte

Good Morning!

Oh wait, I forgot, you’re Evil Monkey.

At least your sister is nice.

Sometimes.

Despite some moody cats, things are pretty good over here in our little apartment.

Last night we went to a house-warming party for J, with the usual suspects M and B (S and E had to work).  It was a fun evening filled with good food (J’s mum visited this week and brought him vats of homemade kimchi. Kinda epic.), laughs, and maybe a little too much red wine.  Coming back home around midnight, it was well past our bedtime and we dragged our sorry behinds to bed.

This morning we woke up to the scratchings of kitties’ paws on our bedroom door, letting us know that we had slept in too long and that they wanted breakfast.

It was 730 a.m.

Roo and I are pretty non-functional not before breakfast, but coffee.  If you remember, I had a bit of a meltdown at Starbucks, when I found out that their Soy Pumpkin Spice Latte wasn’t dairy free.  Of course a lot of factors contributed to this meltdown, but when I was finally able to get my hands on some form of caffeine, I asked myself why was I wasting my time in line for a latte, when I knew how to make one.

Unlike a lot of the teens that single handedly support Starbucks on their weekly allowance alone, I prefer a not-too-sweet latte that won’t make me want to call up my dentist afterwards.  I’m always “that girl,” asking the barista to give me an extra shot of espresso, yet one (or two) less pumps of syrup in my flavored latte.

Yet, with natural ingredients, I find that I love the perplexity of flavors that you can establish in a homemade drink, different from the injection of syrups that are pumped by your favorite barista.  Creamy pumpkin, heat from cinnamon and ginger, and just a little bit of nutmeg to give it that extra something (nutmeg goes well in lots of dishes with creamy ingredients), after drinking this I seriously questioned my laziness on a workday.

With it being the weekend, I hope that you can take your time rolling out of bed, turning your coffee machine on, and save a couple bucks on something that doesn’t have your name misspelled on the side of the cup.  Unless, you like that kind of thing.

Image from Amazon

-

Adapted from The Kitchn

Serves One

-

Ingredients

Six ounces, or half a mug filled with your favorite, strongly brewed coffee

1 cup of almond milk

2 tablespoons of pumpkin puree

1 tablespoon of vanilla extract (I know, it’s a LOT but hey, you’re worth it)

Half a teaspoon of cinnamon

One eighth a teaspoon of nutmeg

One eighth a teaspoon of ground ginger (optional)

Sugar to taste (I don’t like sugar in my coffee, but I find that 1 tablespoon added makes this latte smooth to drink. Sugar lovers you may want 2.)

-

Equipment

A small pot (that can hold about 2 cups)

A whisk

A blender (or an immersion blender), if you don’t want foam, you don’t need either any of these

A tea towel/bunch of paper towels, is using a blender (to put over the top)

A spoon, maybe

-

Pour the almond milk into a small pot and place over a burner on medium low heat.  Warm the milk until it gets very hot.  If it bubbles a bit, that’s ok, just turn the heat down so it doesn’t come to a rolling boil.  Add the pumpkin puree, vanilla extract, ground cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger and sugar, if using.  Stir the ingredients together, until the milk gets very hot again, ie steaming.

Remove the pot from heat and pour the milk mixture into your blender, or if you’re using an immersion blender, blend the ingredients within the pot until frothy.

If using a blender, place the top on, along with a tea towel (to protect your hands).  Still with your hand on the towel and top, blend the milk mixture together, until frothy.  (This took me about 30 seconds.)

Pour your now frothy milk mixture into your mug that’s half filled with coffee.  As you empty the blender, the foam should settle on top.  If there’s any leftover foam, grab a spoon, and ladle it on top.

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Latte

  1. Just about the only thing I get at Sbux is a green tea latte with soy milk and 1/2 sweet. Most of the time, they forget my 1/2 sweet and put the full sweet in anyways. I also would rather have coconut milk instead of soy. So, why is it that I continue to go there for something I could easily make at home?
    I said all that, to say, I get what you’re saying and your pumpkin spice latte sounds delish :)

    • I know, would it kill Starbucks to give us a little love with something other than soy milk? Coconut milk would be so awesome in a mocha latte, creating an almond joy kind of beverage. Now you have my wheels turning! Haha.

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting! It really means a lot to know that it’s just not me reading this. :)

Leave a Reply

