Cookie Dough Balls

I’ve been holding out on you.

I’ve been hoarding this recipe all to myself because it’s just too good.

Every Friday for a couple weeks now, it’s been a bit of a ritual.  I click on the Pandora app on my iPod (lately it’s been the City and Color playlist), and just start throwing ingredients into the food processor.  Coupled with banana soft serve (no really, it’s fantastic), it’s truly a great way to start the weekend.

I love that I can eat it without the worry of possible salmonella contamination, without the guilt of it being full of processed sugar, and that it actually tastes wholesome.  Yes, a cookie dough ball can taste wholesome.

How is this possible?

They’re…vegan.

Yes, I probably felt the same thing you are right now when I learned that they were vegan.  But you know what?  They’re good.  They’re really good.  And dare I quote Roo saying, “If these are vegan, I’ll gladly eat more vegan things.”

Really.

And they’re super easy to make!  It’s a one dish recipe, and you can make your own soft serve in the same food processor after.

A hint of salt, a creamy texture from the cashews, and plenty of dark chocolate, these cookie dough balls make me eager for Friday.  Or now.  I think I might dig into the back of my freezer and have them now.

Recipe adapted from, just a little bit, Oh She Glows

-

Ingredients

Half a cup of unsalted cashews (I’ve used both raw and roasted seeing no difference)

Quarter cup of old fashioned oats

Quarter cup of whole wheat flour

Quarter teaspoon of sea salt (I use Diamond)

1 tablespoon of cane sugar

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

3 tablespoons of maple syrup

Three squares of good dark chocolate broken up with your fingers (or a quarter cup of chips)

-

Equipment

A food processor

A spatula

Something to store the cookie dough balls in like a piece of aluminum foil, or a ziploc bag

-

Add the cashews and oats to the food process and pulse until it forms almost a crumbly consistency (almost flour like).  Then add the salt, sugar and flour.  Pulse a few times until combined.  Add the vanilla extract and maple syrup and pulse until combined.  The “dough” is going to be very sticky, but this is completely normal.

Add the chocolate.

Pulse until they break up a bit and combine into the rest of the “dough.”

Remove the “dough” from the food processor with a spatula, and roll into balls.

Store them in the freezer until it’s time to eat with your soft serve.  Or, eat one, then store one, as I do.

One thought on “Cookie Dough Balls

  1. Pingback: The Best Veggie Burger Roo Ever Had « Liz Lemon Nights

Leave a Reply

