Almond Yogurt Cake with Strawberries

I’ve been hesitant about posting this recipe because I’m convinced that this is the world’s ugliest cake to photograph.  It’s one of my favorites, and although I’ve taken pictures of it many times, there’s just something about baked strawberries that’s incredibly unappealing in photos.  Gray, floppy, dimpled; do you need any more descriptive words to get the gist of how ugly they are?

But the cake.  The cake is delicious.  I can’t stop myself from scraping up bits of the batter with the spatula, and then “accidentally” spilling some on my hand while transferring it into the pan.  I think I have a problem. And it doesn’t stop with the batter.

Out of the oven, the time when all bakers unite and say “wait till it has cooled,” I immediately grab whatever object I can find and dig into the jammy pockets of strawberries nestled amongst a nutty crumb.

If you love cakes that aren’t too sweet, have a bit of texture from the ground almonds, and think the concept of strawberries making their own jam within the batter is genius, then make this.  Make this now.

And invite me over because we’re almost out over here.

Adapted from Orangette

Ingredients

1/2 cup plain yogurt (I use Chobani 2%)

3/4 cup sugar (I used raw and I also don’t like very sweet cakes, but if you do, use 1 cup)

3 eggs

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour (if you don’t have any on hand, you can use 1 cup AP flour, but I like the nuttiness whole wheat gives the cake)

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup ground almonds (you can start with whole almonds and grind them down in a food processor)

1/2 cup olive oil

Three handfuls of frozen strawberries (don’t like too many jammy pockets? – sure, it’s a word! – use strawberries sparingly)

Equipment

Food processor

Large sized bowl

Medium sized bowl

Whisk

Spatula

9″ cake pan (you can use an 8″.  9″ is all I have!)

Parchment paper (if you’re lazy like me, otherwise butter and flour to grease your pan)

Place the oven rack in the middle of the oven and preheat the oven to 350F.

Whisk the eggs, yogurt and sugar together until combined in a large sized bowl.  In a medium sized bowl, combine the all purpose flour, wheat flour, and baking soda.  If you already have ground almonds, add them to the medium sized bowl.  If not, add the whole almonds (or slivers, whatever you have on hand that equals to half a cup) to the food processor.  Pulse (at one-two second intervals) until a coarse ground results.  Be careful to not go overboard as you do not want an almond-oily-mess (ie almond butter).  Add the ground almonds to the medium sized bowl and stir to combine.  Add all the contents of the medium sized bowl to the large sized bowl in two increments.  Stir until combined (this is where the spatula is useful for stirring vs. the whisk getting “clumpies” stuck in it).  Add oil to to large sized bowl.  It’s going to look horrible at first, but keep stirring with your spatula and it’ll all come together.

Grab the cake pan.  Line it with parchment paper (if you’re lazy like me), or butter and flour it to prevent the batter from sticking to the pan.  Add 3/4 of the cake batter to the pan.  Add the handfuls of strawberries to the cake batter, in a pattern that ensures at least on jammy bite is experienced in a slice.  (That sentence makes me sound like a creepy leprechaun, but I’m going to go with it.)  I like to spread them so they make a circle.  Pour the rest of the batter over the strawberries.

Put the cake into your preheated oven and bake for 40 – 50 minutes.  My oven with the 9″ pan bakes the cake to perfection at 40 minutes, however I always check the cake around 35 minutes with a knife.  When inserting a “cake tester” it should come out clean if the cake is done.  If the cake isn’t done around 40 minutes and it’s getting a bit too brown, you can tent tin foil over the pan.

I love this cake.  I love this cake batter.  Basically any excuse I can make to bake this cake so I can eat it for breakfast, and then throughout the day, I use.

Leave a Reply

